Uncategorized

Review: Since You’ve Been Gone

Yay! My first review!

12ggh22xzc3ive

So today I will be reviewing….

Image result for since you've been gone book

Since You’ve Been Gone by Morgan Matson

Genre(s): Young Adult, contemporary, friendship, romance

Length: 465 pages

cooltext224003228903738

Emily has never been spontaneous or confident and lived life in her own little shell. However, when Sloane came along, all that changed. She made life so much more interesting. Emily was prepared for the best summer ever with her friend but then Sloane mysteriously disappears, leaving behind nothing but a to- do list. Emily must dare to do thirteen tasks in the hope that they bring her best friend back to her. From tasks ranging from apple picking at night to kissing strangers to skinny dipping, Emily finds more than she expected. And with the help of local boy Frank Porter, who knows what she’ll get up to?

cooltext224003369405247.png( very minor spoilers ahead):

I actually really like this book. It’s a sweet tale filled with friendship, love and excitement but not really cheesy. The perfect blend of humour and cuteness. It is also very relatable. Emily is a down to earth, shy girl that I feel every teenager can sympathise with and relate to. Something I love about the plot, is that although Emily is trying to find her friend, she also finds herself along the way. She’s always lived in Sloane’s shadow, always known as ‘the girl who hangs out with Sloane Williams’ rather than an individual. The story talks about how you should face your fears and that one should make the most of life. It’s all about taking chances and trying new things.

The characters were also very well developed. Emily is undoubtely my favourite simply because how similar she is too me. Frank is an absolute sweetheart and Sloane….well, Sloane is just a whirlwind of fun. The book takes you on an incredible journey and is the perfect summer read.

 

cooltext224003544305190

4/5

The reason I would not give 5 stars is simply because, although it is a cute summer story, my full stars are something that I save for stories that really grab my attention and captivate me. Books that I just like or enjoy mostly get 4.

Have you read this book? Comment your thoughts if you have

K xx

 

 

5 thoughts on “Review: Since You’ve Been Gone

Leave a comment